Monday Props

Monday started off great with 30mins combat and 1 hr PT, It was weights again, so had to be quite focused and mental and put all thoughts on the back burner. The one thing that strength training taught me was to focus and be in the moment.

View in the morning on the way to the gym: Be in the moment folks and enjoy the start of a new day.

Picture 050

Because its my off day today, I visited my aunt with my mum and we had a lunch date! Remember the curry bun place I used to talk about? We curry fanatics went there for lunch and my mum had a curry rice set which I stole bites from and I had my usual curry bun! Again, I was too hot for the bun and only remembered to take a picture after I had a bite!

 

Picture 058

Picture 059

My mum told me that the contraption below is a ice grinder that was used in the 60s and 70s to make iceballs! Thatโ€™s a mystery solved!

Picture 060

What I replenished the fridge with:

Picture 055 \

Some thoughts: The rest day today was really essential, to spend some time with family and also to find the balance between work and rest. Iโ€™m still trying to find that balance but I think I would have to remove myself more, emotionally, from work stuff, to do what is within my control and really really be less hung up about work stuff and be more in tune with my own needs. I like what Iโ€™m doing at work but I should be less invested in it, I feel. Any thoughts on this?

Dinner tonight:

For the Hubs: A curry bun(!), vegetable stirfry, half a squid croquette which we bought yesterday and some purple rice with furikake.

Picture 061

For me, everything except the curry bun ๐Ÿ™‚

What went into the stirfry: black eyed peas, pea shoots, mini portobello mushrooms, spinach, carrots and some shrimps.

Picture 062

And a special dish of the day: Egg Bake (Egg Casserole)

Recipe (adapted from The Chic Life http://thechiclife.com/2013/03/berebere-spiced-egg-bake-recipe.html)

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons frozen, chopped spinach
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • pinch of salt
  • a bit of pepper
  • some basil

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degree celsius.
  2. Combine egg, milk, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Add spinach and mix in.
  3. Pour mixture into casserole dish. Bake until edges are golden brown and egg is set in the middle, about 16-18 minutes (depending oven temperature, etc.).Note: I used a fork to check doneness, sort of like you would for cake.
  4. Remove from oven and let sit for a couple minutes till itโ€™s safe to eat. Enjoy!

Picture 063

Picture 064

Have a great evening folks! Am off to chill with some Weiss ice cream! ๐Ÿ™‚

Any workouts that you have that require you to be focused and in the moment?

How do you find that balance between work and life? Any tips to share? Do email or facebook me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

