WORKING & WORKING OUT

Howdy folks! Guess what; my PT session just became more interesting yesterday when Joanne Peh (local TV celebrity) did her workout right in front of me! Of course the competitive side of me came out and I bested her in all the workouts ; which was also partly due to my trainer wanting to kill me in all the different reps. Also, the competitive ante was upped as the workouts took place in a male dominated area-(the weights area!) and it was fun to do some stuff better than the guys. Anyhows I thought the said local celebrity was quite brave to work out in such a public area but unlike the Western TV celebs, the local ones here aren’t too friendly.

Breakfast yesterday was something protein packed to help get me through the long day of attending a worlshop, work and then of course the workout at the end. Guess which part of the day I loved most?

Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Bread with Spinach Omelette & Some Bacon Bits.

Picture 005

On Mon, I still felt a little iffy about my throat and nose situation so I went for a run (indoors of course! the weather is crazy sweltering) and I felt tons better. Just like yesterday, I think the workouts scared the blocked nose and cough into submission and hiding. Short run just to get the system working. It was also great to feel revved up by the upbeat music in the am!

Picture 001

Playlist!

1) Nicki Minaj-Starships

2) For A Lifetime-Adam Harris feat Taya

3)David Guetta-Titanium

4) Scooter-Jigga Jigga!

Talking about Titanium, I thought the chorus resonated a lot with how I feel when I deal with difficult stuff at work. And I thought it would be such a good mantra to have to overcome mental obstacles in our daily lives. Sometimes we let doubt creep its way in too much and then it becomes obsessive and uncontrollable, when in reality, everything is possible.

I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose
Fire away, fire away
Ricochet, you take your aim
Fire away, fire away
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium
You shoot me down but I won’t fall
I am titanium

Dinner on Monday

Picture 003

Loving the veg stir up

Picture 002

And the purple rice with adzuki (red bean) and black eye peas!

Picture 004

Breakfast today was Brown Rice Cakes with Blueberry Jam/Garlic Herb Spread and some ham!

Picture 006

Hope this week is a good one for everybody folks. According to some course mates, nothing beats working for the Land Transport Authority (well known for its frequent communication breakdown in transport and with people)-it must be department for people who like to work in an environment fraught with anxiety and unpredictability. Sometimes  “ I wanna scream and shout and let it all out” – I guess that’s what our workouts are for eh? If only my work was my workouts! Or something to do with physical stuff, it would be so energizing and rejuvenating! I really wonder how long I can hold on in my work? I love my job but sometimes things can get out of hand!

Have you ever seen a local celebrity in your gym or workout area?

If your mind were made of Titanium, what can you overcome? Any real life obstacles that you want to tear down physically?

 

2 thoughts on “WORKING & WORKING OUT

  1. hihi ben; nice to hear from you! haha i guess my lunches havent been that extraordinary; and i always feel that lunches are over-rated! thats really nice of you to feel that im positive! its real encouraging! see u around and have a great week ahead! 🙂

  2. Hello Wanying, I see you’re leaving lunch (your caffeine punch) out of the pics?
    That’s some crazy positive attitude towards work lol. Titanium~

    Catch you around. We ought to talk more, haha. You always make me laugh!
    Ben

Leave a Reply

