Weekend Dos- My Days In Reverse

Sunday afternoon is here again! Soon it will be the beginning of the new, crazier work week. But first, a recap of Thurs-Sun beginning from this morning. Let’s begin at the beginning-be warned, long post ahead! 🙂 Blame it on work; these few days, I have been so tired from work!

Today started on an interesting and wonderful note. The Hubs-O-Meter woke up earlier than usual and we had a great morning run!

Morning at 7.40am; it was already late but the weather was still cool!

It was fun running with the Hubs; we haven’t done that in a while now, so I brought the Hubs on my usual running route to the Gardens. We passed many runners along the way and the Gardens was nicely crowded unlike the weekdays. By nicely crowded, I mean there’s enough people to make the place lively but not crowded till it feels claustrophobic. That’s what I like about the Gardens-today there was a mass tai-chi group going on and several runners, together with some families and visiting tourists but there was enough personal space for everybody. 

There’s always something going on in the Gardens and reaching the place always feel like a lovely reward after doing 2.4k along the roads.

The Hubs giving a nonchalant pose for the blog!

Today was especially special because as we were doing a lap around the pond, we saw a huge-ass monitor lizard crossing the path leisurely! It was the first sighting for me and although I couldn’t get a picture of it in time ( I spent half the time feeling amazed and shocked–the other half the time I was yelping in surprise with some Australian tourists behind us)–I got a picture of its smaller brother. 

On another note, did you know that Ginger plants can grow this tall?

That’s me after a 5.3k run with the Hubs!


I must say the run really set the positive tone of the day; both of us felt happier and we even had time to go to mass on time and I felt people were especially nicer and kinder today. And just minutes ago, a family knocked on our door and distributed a pack of beautiful christmas cards as a house visit from a Baptist church opposite our home. They didn’t even preach or evangelize-it was a truly free gift!

Was it the run that changed our outlook and our disposition for the day?

Saturday House Keeping Day

Hubs and I went grocery shopping and the below happened:

A coffee-milo drink–a Christmasy drink called the  Kopi-Lo from Toast Box. Topped with a sugared wafer, some M& Ms and some whipped cream, it proved too sweet and too much for me to finish. I could only drink half. But it was a pretty drink nonetheless.

The Hubs was less adventurous, so he went for good old fashioned coffee which I wanted to have halfway through my drink. Coffee envy!

Later on in the day, there was a lot of cleaning that went on; that’s all that I can say; and to relieve some stress and to get rid of some apples lying around the fridge, this happened.

Easy Apple Cake

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/fresh-apple-cake-ii/

4 cups chopped apples

2 cups white sugar ( I used much much lesser than 2 cups)

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used less than 1/2 cup)

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup chopped walnuts

Mix all the ingredients

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan. In a medium bowl, stir together the sugar and apples, set aside. Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the oil, eggs and vanilla. Add the apples and sugar, mix well. Stir in the dry ingredients, then the nuts. Pour into the prepared pan and spread evenly.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until cake springs back to the touch

Then you eat some of it!

Fri Happenings: Home Made Smoothie & Lava Cake at a friend’s house plus plenty chilling with my God-Son!

Thursday Eats:

Brekky  was coffee in my new alphabet mug and savoury oatmeal with baked chicken ball. Oats are really effective in helping one stave off hunger for a long time!

Thursday Workout at gym-5:03k at 5.52 pace. For some reason it’s so much easier to go much faster on the treadmill.

Walking around the mall, post workout, soaking up the Christmas atmosphere.

 

Chinese Churros, beancurd snack and coffee after!

So much going on this week! But great to have the Hubs to hang out with! Now, time for a chillax session with my new mug and some catching up on blogs!

 

What is your favourite hang out activity with your other half?

Have you seen a monitor lizard in real life?

Today was my first seeing a real life, ginormous one!

 

Leave a Reply

