SWEET RUN

The day started on a good-slow and relaxo pace. Hubs-ty slept in because of the 70k bike ride he did the night before (jealous!) whilst I stalked blogs and let my mind wake up slowly.  Breakfast was tuna I prepped on Saturday & lunch was not v healthy because hubs-o-meter wasn’t full from the egg & chicken patty muffin I made him so we had to top it off with some fries & teriyaki chicken.

                              IMG_1062 IMG_1063

This was followed by watching Frasier Season 8 (good high brow laughs for the inner intellect) and doing little chores here & there. The highlight though were these sweets (Nutella cookies-real simple) : a brainwave as my Nutella was going to expire. Hubs-terone proclaimed it to be better than the peanut butter cookies yesterday & that they do give Famous Amos a run for their money (or was it because he wanted more??) , so judging from my walking tasting palate ( hubs), this is a safe recipe to continue using). (Notice how my baked goods come from easy reipes, no more than 5 ingredients and does not require a mixer?)

                                                               IMG_1065

hree Ingredient Nutella Cookies

Yield: 10 cookies

Prep Time: 5 mins

Cook Time: 8 mins

Ingredients:

1 cup of Nutella
1 cup of flour
1 egg

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix all ingredients with a large spoon until a dough batter forms. The batter may be slightly crumbly, but should come together for the most part. . Form into 1 inch balls. Place on a cookie sheet. Press the balls down with the palm of your hand until they are round and flat. I smoothed out the edges of the cookies after flattening them. Space them about 1 inch apart. Bake for 7-8 minutes for the cookies to set.

 

These cookies were the bomb.com, and finally cookies that taste like cookies! Well they were important fuel for the run that came after. The run to Botanical Gardens & 1 loop in the Gardens (ard 7k I think), that took 40 mins. It was supremo-run because the weather was fannntastically cool & windy, I felt alive and awake and loving every moment of the run and I wasn’t running because I had cookies & fries, I ran because it was amazing out there –it would have been a waste. Love it when I pespire like crazy-mad. But after that our legs felt sore in a good way & we felt so so flushed with joy.

Dinner was more delish after that & it featured the leftovers from my MIL’s dinner last night that she kindly sent our way so we needn’t cook.

Vegetable curry stew & steamed tofu with pork floss & egg. Protein attack! (these were the yums & since my fridge has been wiped out of food, which I will replenish later, I was mucho grateful)

Anyway it is just good to know that I can still run, having not had the chance to run outdoors for some days, & my legs hurt like crazy sauce from the cardio shape weight session!

                                                                    IMG_1066

Have you ever felt reluctant to go for runs/workouts?

Yes! Sometimes I have self doubt like whether I can run fast enough, or the weather is too hot etc, but then I go when its cooler out & it’s so nice running outside that I forget all those niggling self doubt and when I come back I can’t believe I tried to talk myself out of a beautiful run!

Leave a Reply

